Daily Archives: August 23, 2011

Food, Studying, and a Long Walk!

Good evening everyone! How has today been?! It’s been busy for me- but so good! I woke up this morning and made a good breakfast after I studied for a while. I swear, I feel like I could take a test right now and be prepared without warning! It feels so good to be on top of my work! 🙂

This is how my morning started!

Then came the breakfast! I used my scale again to weigh out the cereal, raisins, and almonds. It’s really very freeing for me! I love it! I feel so controlled 🙂

My cereal tasted so yummy today! I put 1/2 a serving of shredded spoonfuls, 1 serving of toasted oatmeal flakes, 1/3 srv. of raisins, and about 1/3 srv. almonds! Then I put enough milk to enjoy my cereal

So crispy and yums!

After school I came home and had a snack while I made my sandwich because I was super hungry! I had a few carrots, and a little less than 1 tbsp. of hummus.

Perfect thing to coat my tummy, and much better then just grabbing the whole bag and making yourself full before your food is done!

My dad made this fresh, spicy, chipotle style sauce the other day, so I decided to use it on my sandwich instead of mayo (it’s much more thin). It was SOO good! I only used 1 tbsp.

Here’s my sandwich! 6 inches on wheat, with: turkey, tomato, spinach, cucumber, onion, mustard, and 1/2 a piece of havarti cheese. Mmm! Yumm!

After lunch, I studied more, and then went to pick up my friends little boy from his first day of school

Look how cute he looked! He did so good today, I was happy to pick him up! After I got him I went to my Nanny job and filled out school papers and did the “back to school shopping.” That was fun 😉 I’m such a mom… haha

Hours later, when I got off, I was starving again! I came home and threw together this salad, because I have been craving it lately! The mandarin oranges are SO good with the feta and balsamic and I swear it sounds good ALL the time. You’ll probably be seeing more of this 🙂

With my salad I had 2 ak-mak crackers. Whole wheat crackers that I just love!

Look at my sweet boy! I love Noah soo much!

After my salad I had this bowl of homemade soup that my dad made today. It had lean meat, and tons of veggies & legumes in it. It was absolutely delicious. My Dad always makes SUCH good soups!

I had two more crackers with my soup for some extra crunch

After dinner my Mom & I went for a 5.5 mile walk with the dogs: Noah & Rumo. They were truckin’ the whole way! They never stopped once. I was proud!

For my Petite Treat tonight, I had a small bowl of cantaloupe! So fresh, and SO good! If you sit down and take the time to actually focus on your food, it tastes so much better. This was honestly better than any other dessert I could have had tonight. Learn to love fruit! It’s delicious! 🙂

I hope you all have a great rest of the evening! I’m going to go relax and fall asleep! I slept SO good last night after all the business, and I expect the same tonight 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Dinner, I love kids!, Lunch, Petite-Treats, Snacks

Petite-Treat & a Note About College/Blogging

Good morning everyone! How did you all sleep? Hopefully great! I knocked out last night, and could hardly wake up this morning! I slept better than I have slept in a long time!

Last night when I came home from the gym, I made this Petite Treat

It was one small peach, 1/2 a banana, and about 1/2 cup cottage cheese.

It was so delicious, and so perfect to have right after the gym! I was quite pleased 🙂

I wanted to talk to you guys about a couple things, because school has started and life is going to get more busy around here. As some of you know, a few months back I was planning on stopping the blog while I went through nursing school. After some time passed, I realized that’s not what I want to do at all, because I love this blog and it’s a great thing for me! Everything about it adds GOOD to my life. I love interacting with so many people about healthy living, and just regular, normal every day life.

So, instead, I decided that I will continue through school. I’m just going to have to make sure my priorities are straight. In terms of gym/work/blogging/school, school is the most important thing to me right now. I go to school Monday-Thursday, but am actually studying and doing homework 7 days a week. I have to study EVERY SINGLE day to get the A’s that I know I can get; I just have to FOCUS! The gym and my blog are also very important to me, because they make me happy, and they’re hobbies in my life. The gym is easy because I can take notecards and go on the elliptical and study, just like I did last night. Blogging on the other hand takes much more time. SO, not that I’m going to stop, but if I’m not here my usual 3-5 times per day, it’s NOT that I’m tired of blogging at all! It’s just that I’m focusing on my priorities and trying to balance everything evenly so I don’t stress out 🙂

I thank you guys for being so patient with me, and going through this journey with me! It will be so much fun, and I’ll make sure to let you guys in on stuff I am learning too 🙂

See you back here later! 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Petite-Treats